Direct Access

Left Navigation

Répertoire International des Sources Musicales (RISM)
Working Group Germany - Dresden and Munich branches
The RISM working group of the Federal Republic of Germany is a registered association and as such a legally independent part of the international joint venture RISM for developing an international catalogue of musical sources. Their task is the scholarly indexing and cataloguing of old music prints, music manuscripts, texts about music and text books from around 1600 to the mid-19th century contained in German collections.
Since 1979 also music representations in the fine arts have been included in cooperation with the Répertoire International d'Iconographie Musicale (RIdIM). Detailed information about the activities of the German RIdIM branch can be found on the  RIdIM website.
The work is funded by the German federal state and the Länder via the  Union of the German Academies of Sciences and Humanities in Mainz, with the work being divided between two branch locations. The Munich branch at the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek is in charge of the territory of the "old federal Länder", the Dresden branch seated at the  Saxon State and University Library Dresden is in charge of the "new federal Länder". In the Berlin collections the manuscripts from the Munich branch and the prints of the Dresden branch are processed.
Detailed information about the activities of the German RISM working group is provided on its  website.
The title records of the music manuscripts can be researched via the  RISM OPAC.
Dresden branch office:
Sächsische Landesbibliothek – Staats- und Universitätsbibliothek Dresden
01054 Dresden
Dr. Andrea Hartmann (Head)
Phone: +49(0)351 - 4677-398
Fax: +49(0)351 - 4677-741
Munich branch office:
Bayerische Staatsbibliothek
80328 Munich
Dr. Gottfried Heinz-Kronberger (Head)
Dr. Helmut Lauterwasser
Dr. Steffen Voss
Phone: +49(0)89 - 28638-2110 or -2884
Fax: +49(0)89 - 28638-2479
Répertoire International des Sources Musicales, Working Group Germany, Management Board:
Prof. Dr. Thomas Betzwieser (Chairman)
Goethe-Universität Frankfurt
Institut für Musikwissenschaft
Georg-Voigt-Str. 12
60054 Frankfurt/Main
Prof. Dr. Hartmut Schick (Vice Chairman)
Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München
Institut für Musikwissenschaft
Geschwister-Scholl-Platz 1
80539 München
Dr. Bernhold Schmid (Secretary)
Musikhistorische Kommission
Bayerische Akademie der Wissenschaften
Alfons-Goppel-Str. 11
80539 München
Dr. Barbara Wiermann (Project director Dresden)
Sächsische Landesbibliothek - Staats- und Universitätsbibliothek
01054 Dresden
Dr. Reiner Nägele (Project director Munich)
Bayerische Staatsbibliothek
Ludwigstr. 16
80539 München