Oriental and Asian Department

Department head:  Dr. Thomas Tabery
Deputy department head:  N. N.
Fax:  +49 89 28638-2805
orient@bsb-muenchen.de
ostasien@bsb-muenchen.de

An overview of the department

With 600,000 printed works in the original languages and 19,900 manuscripts, the Oriental and Asian Department belongs to the world's renowned collections with comprehensive and important holdings from all parts of the Orient and Asia. It covers the regions of North Africa, the Near and Middle East, Central, South, South-East and East Asia and is divided into six specialised subdivisions.

The department acquires literature in the original languages. The collection's focus is on humanities: Philosophy, religion (Christian Orient, Judaism, Islam, Hinduism, Buddhism, Daoism, Confucianism), history, archaeology, linguistic and literature studies, music, architecture and art, history of science, ethnic studies, book history and classical text editions. A broad variety of secondary literature in Western European languages is collected.

Organisation structure

The department is divided into six divisions:

    Hebrew Works, Yiddish, Ancient Orient, Egyptology

    Prof. Dr. Stefan Wimmer
    Phone:  +49 89 28638-2880
    stefan.wimmer@bsb-muenchen.de

    Arabic and Islam Studies

    Felix Wiedemann
    Phone:  +49 89 28638-2366
    felix.wiedemann@bsb-muenchen.de

    Turkic Languages and Persian

    Mirja Weinmann
    Phone:  +49 89 28638-2883
    mirja.weinmann@bsb-muenchen.de

    Armenian, Georgian, Semitic Languages

    Wolfgang Schmitt-Garibian
    Phone:  +49 89 28638-2881
    wolfgang.schmitt-garibian@bsb-muenchen.de

    South and Central Asia

    India, Tibet: Ralf Kramer
    Phone:  +49 89 28638-2851
    ralf.kramer@bsb-muenchen.de

    Mongolia: Wolfgang Schmitt-Garibian
    Phone:  +49 89 28638-2881
    wolfgang.schmitt-garibian@bsb-muenchen.de

    East Asia

    Dr. Thomas Tabery
    Phone:  +49 89 28638-2656
    thomas.tabery@bsb-muenchen.de

    Top